A Xochitl By Any Other Name

So. Many. Dragon. Names.

Hey everyone (I assume I can use ‘everyone’ instead of ‘you’ because I think—I hope?—there is more than one person who reads these ramblings),

Today I have for you a micro-update and a kind of fan extra all rolled into one! A dragonlinked info-taco, if you will! With extra exclamation marks!!

Okay. Sorry. Too much coffee.

The micro update: I’m writing the draft of the last chapter of book 4! Whoop! I apologize for how long this book is taking, but I think I know why and will let you all know if that is the case, soon. Now, I do have to write the epilogue after this chapter, but it will likely not be as long as a full chapter.

The fan-extra, secret taco-sauce: As part of writing this chapter, I have to come up with a name for a dragon who I didn’t need to name earlier. Part of my process for doing so is to review other names I’ve already used. This is true for humans or dragons, incidentally. I try to come up with a name that does not sound like and is not spelled too much like previous names. I have failed at that before, but I try to keep it from happening because, and especially with an ensemble series like this one, it can be confusing to the reader if there are names that are too similar. I just finished reviewing my character list and the dragon names therein and there are So Many Dragons. It’s very cool (dragons!), but also a bit intimidating. I have to come up with another dragon name. How do I do that? I hit up the interwebs for Aztec/Mayan/Inca names. That’s the fan extra bit. My dragon names are based off of Aztec/Mayan/Inca names! And that is what’s going on in the post title. There is no actual word for ‘rose’ in Aztec, but xochitl means ‘flower,’ so, there you go. Xochi is a diminutive form of Xochitl that I used for that rambunctious little rascal dragon who is no longer little. Another difficult part for me is finding out how a potential name is pronounced. Along with how it looks written down, how a name sounds is an important part of my selection process, even more so than its meaning. Thankfully, Google usually helps me out with that, too. So anyway, now I am off to come up with a new dragon name. I’ve had to come up with a few new dragon names while writing this book, by the way. Who are they? Where are they from? WHO ARE THEY GOING TO BOND WITH?!? Sorry, that information must remain secret, for now.

Until next time, happy reading!

Categories: Dragonlinked, Fan Extras, Update, Writing | Tags: | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

