An Interesting Resource for Name Ideas

So I was trying to come up with a name for BossBadGuy today to replace the [] placeholders in the outline and manuscript draft that I’ve completed so far. I used my go-to tool, Google, and started scrolling through the websites it listed when one result caught my eye.

What if you could see the names, male and female, used in specific decades in the United States, sorted by actual usage in those decades? The Social Security Administration has an app for that. Well, a webpage. That’s what I came across, the Social Security Administration Popular Baby Names page. The link to search by decade is a little below halfway down the page, and you can also search by state or territory.

It is limited to U.S. names and only goes back so far, as it is the Social Security Administration’s records that are being searched for the data, but it can still help if you are interested in selecting a name that ‘feels’ like a particular time in the past.

I think it is kind of nifty, so I thought I would share it. Now, back to writing!

Categories: Tips, Writing | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

